Just Another Week, and Some More Hooker Talk…

Hello friends, lovely seeing you here!  

Just a quick note, swearing abounds when I start talking about pattern thieves later on…they really get my goat!

Am settling into a routine at work, getting the hang of it.  I’ve been spending a bit more time alone at work, my boss is pregnant and due in a month, and her mum, who works there with me, has been taking her to some dr appointments, classes, etc.  It’s been a bit odd to get used to: I have their dogs in the office with me, and when I leave the office, to show a unit or use the facilities, I have to lock the office doors, but unlock the childgates that keep the dogs in, one gets separation anxiety and will hurt herself trying to get through the gate.  There is a good chance, since one of the dogs gets such separation anxiety that I might have to dog sit when the baby comes, they don’t do well alone for more than an hour or so (they’re 11 and 13, so they need good schedules and things they can rely on).  They’re very good dogs, my work dogs, and I suspect that when I said I didn’t mind having the dogs with me while I work, that’s part of what helped me get the job.

So anyway, work was good, the 8 hours goes by quickly, and I can get a wee bit of crochet done, not usually a spawn, for those I usually have lots of bits and wire out and pliers and scissors, and well, too involved for work, since I don’t take  a lunch break.  I’ve been trying a 2D  sugar skull.  I looked at a few pictures of crocheted ones, and knew I could do that.  Here’s my first one, ready for some embroidered hearts and designs.  They’ll probably be slightly different looking, I’d like to try ones with different flowers in the eyes, or hearts.

sugar_skull,2D

 

I spoke a bit about hookers stealing patterns, or changing a few things and calling it their own.  It’s been quite a topic for conversation amongst hookers this last week.  I likened it to recipes, you can’t take Gordon Ramsey’s famous recipe, add a pinch of salt, a half cup of shallots, and cook for 5 minutes more, and call it your own, and publish it in a book.  BUT, before the internet and things, folks used to do that, minus the publishing part.  They’d take recipes, alter to taste, and then call it “Jenny’s special recipe,” sharing that recipe with friends and family as their own.  With the internet, and the ability to share being so easy, we now know that Jenny’s special recipe was not her own, but a recipe someone else created from scratch, and now Jenny is claiming credit.  Well, hookers are doing the same thing.  Some lazy hookers find patterns, change a few stitches, and then call it their own, even sell it, knowing that they didn’t do “the work” involved in creating a pattern from the bottom up (or top down as some of us create).  There are supposed percentages one can change a pattern and claim it as different, I call bullshit.  BULLSHIT!!! It’s not a new, different pattern, it’s the same original one with modifications.

The U.S. copyright office says patterns “MAY  BE” able to be copyrighted,  and that one may be considered copyrighted as soon as it is written down or put onto an electronic device that allows one to view it.  http://www.copyright.gov  Of course, none of us have/can seem to find a copyright lawyer friend, so no one knows for sure.  It is not copyright protected until you actually go do the paperwork.  You CAN do the work after someone steals it,  but they can always say it was written before yours, and then try to counter…it’s a mess.  There is a link to an article that says patterns are not generally copyrightable:  http://www.tabberone.com/Trademarks/CopyrightLaw/Patterns.shtml , which throws all kinds of other things out.  There are folks who are considering NOT creating anymore patterns because of some ASSHOLES.  I’d call them assholes to their face, that’s probably the nicest thing I’d call them. I’d throw in lazy, lame, untalented, and pathetic.  I know there are many, many bear patterns, but I swear, if you just start looking at what IS out there, you can come up with something that isn’t.  I do it all the time.  When I start a new project, though I’m not working up a pattern for it, I look at what has been made before, and make sure that my work is completely different.  I’ve never had a hard time doing that, and so I really can’t come up with a good reason for anyone else to do it.  If someone else has created the perfect pattern for something you like, use it, contact that designer if you can and tell her/him, spread the love.  That will get you many more positive reactions that for ONE PERSON to find out you’re a pattern thief.  And if I find out, you’re pretty much ruined… I’m not shy about telling folks “this person fancies herself a designer but is nothing more than a lame, talentless hack.”  I’ll blog about it, tweet it, facebook it, put it on pinterest and deviantART, I have friends who will do the same.  I’ll put it on reddit, we all know how things go viral there…

I just want to shake these people.  They’re causing real designers, real hookers with real talents, to possibly quit doing the thing they like. No one wants  to create a pattern for something,  only to have someone else claim it as their intellectual property.  Thieves are stifling actual talented folks!  That makes me so mad!!!  Again, it’s part of why I don’t create patterns.  I’m not so very gracious as to share what came from MY brain with someone else who couldn’t possibly create anything like that…  Bitchy?  Maybe, but at least I’m truthful.  Of course if good designers stopped sharing their ideas the thieves would have less to steal from, or maybe have to actually use their brains and create for themselves…ooo, actual work.

I really am so very irritated by these people.  I’d love to know this is reaching at least one person who steals, or someone who knows someone who does.  I’d love to know that someone reads this, and then when a friend offers to “share” a pattern she paid for, says “Nothanks, that’s stealing. I’ll buy it myself, it’s well priced.” (or ‘I’ll design one for myself that I really like”)   I’d love to know that someone reads this and becomes outraged when someone they know tries to claim credit for a pattern they just changed a bit.  This isn’t just about thieving. It’s about the artists, the creators, THE PEOPLE.  I don’t want to know those thieves.  They aren’t good people.  Someone who is willing to lie, and claim credit for someone else’s ideas, even if “changed” isn’t a good person.  Not someone worth knowing, and I’m actually sad that they know how to crochet. I like to think of hookers, or those who crochet, as good people, but this just lets me know there are some asshole hookers out there I might like to smash the fingers of…oh yea, I’m hard core!!!

I still wish for and look for a good forum to reach folks. I will also blog about it on occasion, so you’ll read about it more.  Probably until folks stop doing it.  No artist wants their creations stolen.  I’m sure if the crocheted sandal was on the other foot, and they finally created something on their own, the thieves wouldn’t want someone else to claim credit.  That’s how we have to think, would we want this to happen to us?  Even if your patterns are free, it’s nice to hear “Wow, thanks for this pattern it’s amazing, just what I wanted!”

 

So, I’m making Calvin and Hobbes for my friend Dan

calvin,kim'ssticksandstrings

Hobbes, the stuffed version,  is next.

Well, that’s what I’ve got… working on spawn, outraged by hacks. Loving my new home, my short commute, my job, the husband and dogs and cat.  It’s about time for me to put in a creepy movie and start hooking. I’ll see you next time!

Keep it creepy!!!

 

22 thoughts on “Just Another Week, and Some More Hooker Talk…

    • Linda, I don’t think you could piss me off! The stealing just makes me mad, and when it possibly deters designers from doing what they love, it just is so aggravating. It never hurts anyone to give credit to the original designer!
      Woohoo elf scalp!

  1. Again very well said Kim! Can’t we somehow expose the thieves we know of, with Ravelryname, facebook page, blog and all?

    I’m happy for you you’re feeling at home in your new home and in your job :)

    • Thanks Ellen!!! I think we should use every avenue thieves use to steal, so that folks there, where they’re doing their damage, know, AND every other one we have, can dig up, to expose them! I want to be able to connect my mind to every hooker, kind of like Xavier on X-men, and tell the thieves to stop!
      I really do like my 15 minute commute, I don’t mind driving to or from work!!! And a job that I really like is cool!
      X

      • Teeni and I have commented on a thief’s pattern on Ravelry, but our comments have been deleted. Every comment you make there and that’s a bit negative, is. The original designers have contacted Ravelry about the stealing, but got at a dead end, it seems. The patterns are still up there. The same thief sells items made from well-known designers on their fb and blog, without giving credit. It’s very hard to expose them. I’ve reported them to fb, but to no end. The blog is on blogpost, but I don’t know if they will do anything about it. And I don’t speak Turkish, but I can translate with google.
        There’s also the Chinese site, that is stealing everything that is ever designed, crocheted, knitted or cross-stitched. I know the website/company HeavenAndEarth designs (embroidery/cross-stitch) has tried a lawsuit against them, but it takes years and lots of money. The only ones laughing are the lawyers…

        I agree with you it’s a huge shame people who make beautiful designs we all enjoy, are no longer doing so because of this stealing. But the way of the law is no way to stop the stealing.
        Isn’t there a straight way to let everyone know who the actual thieves are? Without getting into trouble ourselves of course! Or kind of yarnbomb them. Comment their pages, sites, blogs, etsy shops, ravelry posts and shame them? We are with many, when everyone comments or reports, that could be a way… Or it’s just Utopia…

      • I love the idea of connecting “comment-bombing” on their blogs or pages, in each avenue possible! I think that they’ll all eventually be removed, but someone else might see and help expose them or maybe, at the very least not use that “designer” anymore since they’re not the actual one. I think if many of us did it it would be too many to take down all at once, someone would have to read them!

  2. (I’m sorry, this is going to be long. I think I must have been a little pent up.)This post and the last one have really left an impact on me.

    Have you read an article by Patton Oswalt called “A CLOSED LETTER TO MYSELF ABOUT THIEVERY, HECKLING AND RAPE JOKES” (http://pattonoswalt.com/index.cfm?page=spew&id=167). There is a lot going on in the article but a large portion of it talks about joke stealers and how hard it is for comedians to convince some people that what they do is an art-form, that their jokes are a product of hard-work and ingenuity. Some people think that jokes belong to everyone … and yet poems are more often than not credited to their writers. I wonder if the same goes for crochet and other crafts. Or is it that people look at a pattern too closely – do they just see it as a series of stitches and increases and decreases and think, how can anybody own that? When I think of some of the days and sometimes weeks I’ve spent wondering where to put those stitches and increases and decreases … Anyway, what I want to say is that by copying a crochet pattern or not giving others credit where credit is due, we’re dragging our craft, which we all love, in the mud. We’re saying that the creativity that goes into it is worth nothing. Acknowledging someone else’s creativity can only increase the value of your own creativity.

    I’ve been guilty of unoriginality. I’ve been too quick to write up a pattern because I could without thinking whether I really should – and so I am so happy that I read your posts. I’ve been inspired to think more about my inspirations and too credit them. Thank you!

    Also, I just wanted to say that copyright laws are different for every country. I have to follow Australian copyright laws even if the material was produced in another country. I just wanted to put that out there in case anybody wasn’t aware.

    Thanks for writing these posts, Kim!

    • Kim, you should know that Patton Oswalt’s post is one that hit me, though I’m not a pattern designer, and in part inspired all this! I’ve got it bookmarked!!!!
      We, as a community, or a Cro-munity as Teeni likes to say, are really just dragging each other down with this. I understand how folks could want to be able to create great patterns and gain some respect. BUT, we can’t all do that. It doesn’t mean someone is less creative or less of a hooker or less of a person, to not be a pattern designer. I’ve been guilty of looking at pictures and trying to replicate it. But I’d never write down what I figured out and call it my pattern. And when there is an already perfect pattern for something I tell folks. In fact, a couple years ago I decided I wanted to make a shrunken head, a la Beetlejuice, and wrote it down in my idea book. I was doing some google searches of shrunken heads a few months ago, and YOUR pattern came up and I bookmarked it, before knowing you, since it’s perfect! I don’t even have to think about how to make one, yours is great! So when I find time to make one, it will be from your pattern, and I will tell folks!!!!!!
      You know, it’s not terrible to write something up that comes from your brain, and it just so happens to look similar to others. It just means there’s more than one way, or, that the pattern is maybe a bit “generic” in that most heads are made with 6 stitches around, double the second row, third row is (2sc,1sc) around, and continue that way,..some things are basic shapes that we create all the time. Sharing inspiration and credit for ideas only uplifts us all. I have a picture I want to make a spawn from it’s just killing me not to make it yet, but I want time to really work on it, and it needs a zipper, but I will credit that painter for giving me the idea to make it in 3D.
      And yes, we all have different copyright laws to attend to!
      You’re so very cool, Kim, Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Loved it all!!!!!!! AND YOUR SHRUNKEN HEADS!!!

      • Cheers, Kim! Often I feel my thoughts get a bit muddled when I think about these things so it’s great to be reminded of the different aspects and to sit down and think about it and try to sort it all out in my brain :) I have to say that in my experience the hookers in the cro-munity are generous, supportive and respectful. I’m so happy to be a part of it.

        Also, I’m not sure what patterns you and Ellen are talking about, but another way to show support for the original designer and to stick it to the thief is to drive up the number of visitors to the original pattern page. This would help keep the original pattern in front of the copy-cat pattern in searches. Plus, it would let the designer know that they are loved and appreciated :)

        You are extremely kreepy kool, Kim!! I love everything you do. And the Shrunken Head Guy appreciates the love :D

      • You are so right! Send folks to the original link, send them to the original designer! I’m absolutely proud of everyone who finds the original creator and gives them the credit! They are always most happy as well!
        Hugs to you and to Shrunken Head Guy!

  3. If you see a knitted patter (project) that you like and then adapt it to crochet, being a totally different technique, could you call it your own? After all, knitting and crocheting are very different crafts and require different skills (I can’t knit or read knitted patterns, but I often see knitted patterns I like and try to reproduce them with crochet). OK, the original idea is not mine, but the crocheted pattern is. What is your opinion on that?

    • I’d say that the crochet pattern is yours, though you might write a wee paragraph about how you were inspired by a knitted item–there are many hookers who do that pretty regularly, and I would say that the crochet pattern is yours, as you DID create the written instructions for how to create it.
      Hope that helps!
      Creepy hugs!

      • Thank you. It does help. I am just a beginner when it comes to creating patterns and I like to reproduce things I like. As I get more confident, I’ll be designing mine from scratch. I am always happy to give credit to those who inspire me and I can say the person I’ve learned most from is Stacey Trock from FreshStitches.com and her book ‘Crocheted Softies, which I bought last year. She is the one who got me into amigurumi and inspired me to make my own. I would never ever steal a pattern: that would be just too shameful and totally against my principles.

        I am very glad that you are enjoying your job (and the dogs) so much. May it long continue. Big hug.

      • I knew that about you Fatima! You are an honest and wonderful person!
        I love it when people start coming up with their own patterns and items! I love seeing where other peoples’ imaginations take them!
        X

  4. Go Kiiiim! Go Kiiiiiim! *Dances with pompoms. And wolves.*

    It’s summed up for me in this bit:
    ‘If someone else has created the perfect pattern for something you like, use it, contact that designer if you can and tell her/him, spread the love.’
    EXACTLY! I love getting photos of things people have made or getting comments that say how much they like a pattern. It’s awesome, everyone feels good and noone gets their hands crushed by a spawn wielding hooker :)

    Also I adore sugar skulls. Are you making them for anything specific? x

    • Amiguruthi
      It’s funny to me that I can write stuff and folks read it, so having folks actually like it makes me giggle! And I love that you dance with wolves!
      I know Sharon also loves seeing folks use her patterns and then show her, it’s so cool to see how proud and happy folks are with what they’ve created from your pattern!
      Spawn wielding hookers can be vengeful I can walk softly and carry a hungry spawn!
      I’ve been wanting to come up with my own 3D skull pattern, with a jaw that is hinged, I just never have that kind of time. But I did see a 2D skull, and LOVE sugar skulls, and thought it WOULD BE EASIER to embroider on flat skulls. Not for anything or anyone, was going to work a bit more on it then post a picture. It could be really cute sewn to a jacket or a bag. I am going to try a few more freehand and see what else I come up with.
      XX

  5. Oh, you know I have lots to say about this subject, but you already said most of it! LOL. I love that Ruthi dances with pompoms and wolves – that gal cracks me up always. :D I think I just want to add that it’s been hard to “mark” or comment bomb on thieves’ work and pics of their patterns because one I’m thinking of specifically right now really does do nice work – her stitches are lovely and she gets great results from the patterns so her pictures and photos for the patterns are shared all over the place and she’s offering hers for free even though the ones she stole the pattern from are trying to sell theirs for a modest price. You know, as much as I love our cro-munity, there are many who can’t wait to jump on free patterns when they see the nice results in the photo and they don’t bother to check whether it was stolen from someone else. So I’ve seen this particular one go pretty much viral and keep seeing this stolen one in my newsfeed, shared over and over by different people. I don’t have the energy to let everyone know this pattern was stolen and not everyone is ethical, they just don’t care and want the free pattern. So the best I can do is to NOT share those patterns and to just promote the real designers who were stolen from. People also forget that it may not seem to be a big deal, but stolen patterns like this also steal traffic from blogs, youtube channels, and search engines which also can hurt the original designer too.

    • And you’re absolutely correct in doing that as well Mad! Sadly, the way the world works, if we tell the world about “Stacy the Stealer” no one will believe, her work is nice. We can go out of our way not to share her work, and maybe even to find the original patterns she stole from, maybe work in the date of pattern creation, and make sure to share, and support those. I’ll think on this more…there has to be more to do…
      XX

  6. O my Kim really knows how to get a point across with very few words! asshole! or arse hole as we say here in uk! lol I all ways say Kim what come around comes around ;) they will get theres. ♥

    • Tracy
      You are right, they will get theirs, but sometimes I just wanna shake those hookers! And if even one person reads that and decides not to be an arse hole, then I’m happy!!!
      X

Leave a Reply

