Our Weekend of Sharing the Yarny Love…or, Yarn Bombing With Friends…

Hello lovelies! Beginning of the week post, no rants, though, just some yarny lovc. 

So, this last weekend was the Global Yarn Bomb-a-Long with my lovely group of hookers from Treblemaking Hookers, https://www.facebook.com/TreblemakingHookers.  For those of you who don’t know, yarn-bombing, yarn-storming, guerilla knitting or crocheting is all the same thing, it’s a yarny form of graffiti, which, technically, is illegal, though most don’t get prosecuted for, it just gets taken down. Projects can be big, like an entire panel to cover a pole or a tree or an Albert Einstein statue, or they can be smaller, hats on statues, bunting, cute little things hanging from trees… you get the idea.  When your piece, or what yarn bombers  call their “installation” is big, you have to plan to remove it.  People don’t always mind a yarn bomb, but old, faded and tattered yarn is, well, not good.  I have big project phobia, after a bit, no matter what it will be, I don’t like working on it, so I make smaller pieces, pretty often skulls, hearts, or flowers, all that fit in the palm of my hand.   They’re small, easy to take and “install,” AND, for me, the coolest part, always gone after a bit.  It’s kind of my way of spreading a bit of yarny love around.  I make something I love, put it somewhere that one might not normally see yarn, and, at least in my head, someone walks by, sees it, and falls in love. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.  

some of my skulls

some of my skulls

more skulls

more skulls

A couple weeks ago, I asked the group how many might be interested in an impromptu group activity, and got a great response!  There were so many who hadn’t before, but wanted to, and I have to say I am absolutely impressed with all my hookers!  So many made such lovely items, all with the intent of  the yarny bits of love being taken, it makes my heart smile even now.  We’re from all over the world, and just happen to love yarn, and hooking, and, well, sharing.

anne bombs anne yarn bombs Anne Crafted Whimzies anne yb

Anne’s children helped her yarn bomb! The youngest helped with tags and the oldest helped install. I didn’t put tags on mine, but a wee note telling people to take a bit of yarny love home with them makes me happy! The tag says “Give this whimsie a good home”– Awwwww!

crochetcraftsbycarole     This was made by Carole, and her husband helped her install at night! She said they had a great time, and laughed lots! Incidentally, when they got home, a fire had started in a neighboring home, and because they were just getting home, they saw it, and her husband put the fire out… how cool to go from yarn bombing to being heroes!

KatieMcCollum Crepe Myrtle Bracelet   Katie made a very lovely bracelet for a Crepe Myrtle!  I love this! Beautiful and springy, it makes me smile to think of decorated trees!  I”ve never done this type of yarn bomb before, but I do love it!

tracyreynoldsyarnbomb   Tracy made a sweet Bo Peep and some sheep that she fully expected to be taken, which made me wonder where she lived so I could run over there and see people smile at the cuteness, and watch for the person who was finally brazen enough to walk away with them…SO CUTE!  Her neighbors should feel lucky!

Denise 2   Denise library   denise niemann

Denise likes to do this on the regular! She makes cute little stuffies, names them and then leaves them all over town while doing her errands, LOVE HER!  She left her yarn bombs with tags AND NAMES at the library in different sections, and an elephant at Lowe’s. Makes you want to go to the library, doesn’t it!

fatima   Fatima braved the weather to put lovely bunting up on this sign. She said it sprinkled a bit, but the lovely garland was still there later on when she went to take sunny pictures. Flowers are a lovely sign of spring, and Fatima is helping spring along!

dreamcatcheryarnbomb Dreamcatch dreamcatcher maella   Dreamcatcher made wonderful bookmarks with cute tags and placed them all over!  How wonderful to be walking along and see  a very cute bookmark with a tag that tells you to take it!  Every time those folks are reading they will remember that day!

kimlapsleywooleytoons    Kim made the cutest little Tin Man, he even has an axe! And those wee things hanging from the barbed wire?.. Hearts! What else would the Tin Man be climbing barbed wire for?  The hearts are teeny AND crocheted as well!

mad crochet   The Mad Crochet Scientist made a skull and a small note saying that he needed a new home.  She went back a bit later to the bench where she placed him, but he’d already found a new home within an hour…cool.

Amandacrictchletslug Amanda itchy crochet itchy crochet   Amanda decorated a park near her with lovely bunting and snails.  She had her brother and his friend help her, and they played on the playground, so not only did they spread love, but also had fun! And they were all gone when she went back, so someone has cute bits of yarny love from an anonymous wonderful person!!!

deannaskull owl at th court house deann deannasnake rentabike   De’Anna and her kids went about placing some yarny love about town, and they had a parade and a band at their yarn bombing…I’ll have to schedule that for next time!  The owl is at the court house, and the skull in the tree was placed there while a police officer was in his car just a few feet away… she wasn’t arrested, thankfully. And look, rent a bike, get a snake!!!

320766_473182852751411_817174126_n 945330_473183219418041_370507796_n linny   Linny yarn bombed some people she knew, and some random people too… One person got yarn bombed AND candy…win-win situation, thank you very much!!! And who woudn’t love a heart on their windscreen wipers?

922684_599802436696774_386417723_n 931409_599800380030313_1810646819_n 942284_599799866697031_123428760_n   Ellen was away for the weekend, at a sci-fi/fantasy fair and took her yarn bombing with her!  Her multi colored skulls made even the dreariest places way better, and bathroom yarn bombs make me giggle every time!!!

chris quirky   Chris made a bunch of things for her yarn bomb, and wrote her story~

I WANT TO TELL YOU A YARN (bomb)
APRIL 2013

After a week or 2 of gathering ammunition to launch in our *global* yarn bomb weekend (27/4/2013), the day arrived and I was ready for attack. 

I had a plan. In our main city there is a small, infrequently visited, historical site that now houses a few shops and a few little flats, but it is so out of the way in the city centre that not many people visit and the owners of the shops there often suffer from lack of custom. Three of the shops there are actually *craft* shops, one selling all manner of leatherwork gear and supplies (where I get my leather supplies for belts, bags etc), one a *trinket* type shop and the other a yarn shop. 

My plan was to *bomb* the place, get people talking about it and hopefully more would go and visit the area to see the yarn graffiti and at the same time pop into the little shops there. But alas, I could not get into town this weekend and so I had to think of somewhere else. 

So it was off to the supermarket for supplies and as we drove into the car park I 
remembered that the Metro Station was there and BINGO found an ideal place. 

So Gomez (the hubby, hehe) said off you go, I’m hiding in the supermarket. (such a chicken). 

I proceeded to tie on my little bits of soft shrapnel hoping that I would be able to get them all on before a train came in so that I could go back and sit in the car and watch what happened. Unfortunately my timing was bad and a train came along just as I was almost 
finished. 

A quite *mature* lady came to the fence near the tree and said with a grimaced look that said I was in for a scolding, “Erm, what’s all this in aid of?” Honestly, I felt like a naughty little school kid and thought I was in for a right blasting though I don’t know why. Lol 

I explained what a yarn bomb was and told her that this was part of a *global* bombing by a group of friends on the internet and we are helping to put smiles back on people’s faces. 

She never once smiled throughout this conversation, which worried me a bit, and then she said in a rather gruff way, “Well don’t you think it’s a bit silly, people will take them away?” I replied “Oh yes, well that’s the idea, there will be a note saying “If this made you smile today and you see anything you like, please take it.””. Her face still showed no emotion. Lol. She then said, “Oh well there’s not many like you out there today.” I said “Thank you, and feel free to take one if you’d like one.” “Oh, well what have you got?” she said. After giving her a list she went away with a butterfly and said, “Oh and it did make me smile” but it must have been a secret one because I still didn’t see it, lol

I loved that story so much, and still love it after reading it for the 4th time.

donna   Donna is new to our group, but joined in!  She made these super cute owls and a sign that told people they were up for adoption and please come get one… such cute owls, and what a lovely idea!

164281_10151881998984951_698032141_n 168851_10151881998654951_813161533_n   Danielle braved the rain also to put up a bit of yarny spring love out for the world!  These are so very cute! Great job Danielle!

486703_578786632154578_826179675_n   Wanda spread wonderful yarny love all around too!  I copied her by putting a skull at the gas pump, gas is so expensive that it’s nice to get a little something back after filling your tank  and emptying  your pocket!!!

Ok, this next picture isn’t yarny at all. My friend Ken makes wonderfully creepy dolls. Werewolves, zombies, vampires, creeps and ghouls, all amazingly creepy!  He happens to follow the Hookers, and got so excited about our yarn bombing weekend that he made a special doll to put out at a local park.

KenShoenebaum  I love this so much! Ken, you’re more than welcome to Creepy-Doll Bomb with us June 9 for International Yarn Bombing day! This is SO VERY COOL!!!!

Oh yes, International Yarn Bombing Day is June 9 this year. I’ll be participating. So will many of my hookers, they said they so very fully enjoyed this that they can’t wait!  AND I know we’ll be adding a few more folks, some have already expressed interest in joining,which just increases the yarny happiness.

So, that’s my post. I love each and every one of these people so much, pouring their time and energy and love into their projects, ones that went out into the world to find homes with completely random people.  I’ve been grinning from ear to ear while typing, hope this put a smile on your face too.

Have a really great week, so very much love to all my hookers! And, as always, KEEP IT CREEPY!!!!!!

16 thoughts on “Our Weekend of Sharing the Yarny Love…or, Yarn Bombing With Friends…

  1. What a wonderful blog entry! And so good to see everybody’s efforts in one place. I loved looking at all the different projects and I laughed with everyone of them, sharing them with my hubby and son, who also loved them and were very supportive of mine. Thank you so much for taking the time to share our photos: I am sure each one of us is very proud of having taken part in this amazing global project and we all look forward to the next on on 9th June. I am definitely in.

    I also love Ken’s efforts. I am beginning to love skeletons and no longer feel afraid of them. Thank you yet again. 🙂 with lots of love

    • Hi Fatima!!!
      I’m so glad everyone enjoyed this, it was so much fun! And of course I am so happy to share the work of all my friends, hoping that people all over the world see this and love it as much as I do! I’m so glad you shared with your family! AND that you ok with skeletons too! 😀 Even more I am so excited about June 9, I hope we can entice more friends to join us, so many comments on the pictures on facebook seemed like people wished more hookers and knittas did this. I love Ken’s contribution, it just proves creativity and art are infectious!!!
      So much love!!!

    • Thanks so much for joining in! I love that so many wanted to, and I think that more will next time! I had so much fun putting all the pictures from my hookers in one place for everyone to enjoy! 😀

  2. Thank you for this it sure made me smile. I really enjoyed my first yarn bomb and was so happy I was able to share it with my grandson. I mean cause it was like waaay FUN! Even the Poppy had fun getting involved…he couldn’t wait to see each photo everyone posted and comments…He will love seeing your blog post…all in one place. Now, that skull with awesome feather wings…can you say freak’n awesome…I love that Ken got in on it with his craftiness. Thanks again Kim and Treblemaking Hookers for hosting such a fun event. *mush*

    • I’m so glad you had a good time, and getting family in on the action is just the best! Let’s hear it for future yarn bombers!!! I enjoyed putting all the pictures in one place, now more than just the TMH and facebook can see the wonderfulness! Can’t wait for the next time!!!!! ❤

  3. I love you blog, thank you so much for including my efforts, I have really enjoyed this yarnbombing weekend and cant wait for international yarnbombing day on 9th of just. I love seeing other hookers efforts and got some great ideas for the next one from them 🙂

    • Carole
      Thank YOU for participating! I love it so much that we had so many folks join in, and that so many were new to it! I wanted everyone that I could get to see how wonderful my hookers are!!! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear your ideas for next time!

  4. Pingback: Globally hooked! | umami gurumi

  5. Pingback: Global Yarn Bomb-Along April 2013

Leave a Reply

