The Clay Golem That Is All I’ve Been Thinking About

Hello my friends! So sorry it’s been so long, I’ve been kind of one track minded for the past couple weeks.

Since getting the news about the job being unavailable to me, and then getting my heart/blood pressure pills, I’ve had one job interview, and am waiting to hear about that job. It will be another day or so, but I”ve been doing other job hunting too. Just so it doesn’t feel too glossed over, the meds are fine.  I take my pill in the morning, and the cool thing is that my pulse is nice and low when I wake up, instead of having early morning hypertension.  I have to tell you, it was something waking up with my pulse already pounding…but not so anymore.  It’s nice and regular, even after climbing stairs.  

Mostly, I”ve been working on the spawn.  I had a large order for zombies, and I needed to get those done and out before working on the clay golem.  So for days I worked to get those little buggers out. THEN it was time to work on the clay golem, which is kind of a clay monster that is supposed to be able to be controlled.   He’s the companion to Rachel, that I made a few weeks ago.

Image1377

This clay golem is in a story by John F.D. Taff as well, but it’s not a published story, so I can’t tell you anything about, it.  I can’t even tell you what the destiny of Rachel and the golem is…not yet at least.  Just so you know, part of me loves being cryptic. This part is completely out of my control.  But I have to say I absolutely adore being able to do this, it’s a wonderful project I got the pleasure of taking  up, and I had so much freedom and am just having the time of my life with it!!!

John and I had a long email discussion about this golem.  First was  his size…he’s 18″ tall.  I’ve never made anything this tall.  Most of my spawn are somewhere between 6 and 10 inches tall…the size alone was daunting,  but oh-so necessary!

For a long  time, I was a bit more annoyed by him.  He looked like a potato.  A big potato.  With a nose.

golem head  golem torso

golem torso beginning of legs

He’s totally Mr Potato-Head!    I gave him a nose in the beginning so that I knew which was the front of the torso. But even with getting the abdomen ready for legs, he really hadn’t grown on me like I’d wanted, and he was huge.  Knew what I needed to do.

golem eyes

He needed eyes. Instantly I liked him more.  The eyes are made in several pieces with 2 colors of brown yarn, you just don’t see the other yarn, it’s a wee bit darker, so it’s for shading.  The dots are glow paint, which are on a spot that’s black, so they pop even more.  He still doesn’t have a mouth yet, but that’s because I need it to be able to open a bit, for the shem… more on that later.

now with legs     full legs

legs and arms, just no hands

So once he got legs, I was determined!  I made his legs at the same time, so they were EXACTLY alike. I”d work 2 rows at a time, then do the same but mirror work on the other leg, then do 2 rows on that leg.  It was tedious, but I’m happy with the results.  He’s got strong thick thighs, and funky kneecaps, which I like. *Funny side note about the legs. They have small packets of bb’s in the feet, he needed some weight. I made the arms after the legs, so while I’m working on him, his legs are resting on my lap, over my arm, on my shoulder, as I turn him– the arms are worked as part of him, so no separately sewn on.*   He has yet to get toes, that will be one of the last details.  The arms are less than exactly alike. In the story it’s obvious he’s not quite perfect, I just wanted him to look like he’s not quite perfect, a bit odd in spots.  Brainy photobombed him…she’s always a bit jealous when I spend so much time on the spawn.

nearly done golem     chest and hands

 

abs of clay

 

Here’s the golem as he is RIGHT NOW.  Later on tonight, hopefully, he’ll be done.    I decided on 3 fingers and a thumb, not really sure why, but I thought he’d have chunkier hands with only 3 fingers. He’ll have only 4 toes too.  I also decided he needed huge pectoral muscles, and some abs.  I made those and stuffed them lightly before sewing them closed.  The only work left is to work on his face, his toes, and then I want to embroider cracks all over, so that he looks like cracked clay.  I’ll take more pictures of him before I send him away. Then, once his job is complete, I”ll have a great story to tell you.

Until then, I have other things I”m working on… I’ve got a tree already in progress, and some skulls coming up, and a Cthulhu and…yea, there’s lots more for me to show you.

So I totally lied… I’ve not been ONLY thinking about the golem.  There are other things too, but the only other thing I’ve been making are monster hearts for my yarnbomb.  International Yarnbombing Day is June 8 or 9… anyway, so I’ve also been making what I call “monster hearts.”  These are the first 2, started a 3rd on Thursday, but no pictures of the 3rd one yet, since it isn’t finished.  Ok, that’s pretty much it officially…

monster hearts

Have a great weekend, my lovelies! KEEP IT CREEPY!!! 

6 thoughts on “The Clay Golem That Is All I’ve Been Thinking About

  1. I admire your commitment and I think the idea of making the 2 legs at the same time is very clever and makes a lot of sense.

    I am also very pleased about your improvement in health. Keep it up and good luck with your job hunting.

    Lots of creepy love

    Fatima

    • Thank you so much Fatima! I’m feeling better, and keeping up the hunt.
      You know I’d not ever thought about working the legs before, but for some knitted pieces they say to work identical pieces together, and I remember having a conversation with Ellen about how I had to write down my stitches if I needed something to be identical, then I just thought to take out that one step. I didn’t feel the creative flow like I usually do, but by the end I was very pleased with them.
      Creepy love right back at ya!!!
      Kim

Leave a Reply

