I Love My Friends…

Hello, my lovelies! Glad to see you here again! This post really is about you!

It has been a particularly good week for me, nothing really out of the ordinary has happened.  I’ve been working on Calvin and Hobbes characters for my friend Danny. For those of you not from the U.S., Calvin and Hobbes were comic strip characters created by Bill Waterson, a boy and his stuffed tiger, who the boy, Calvin, saw as a quite tall, upright walking tiger, who could talk.

3

It was pretty popular in the mid to late 1980s, yes, dating myself, and it was in the daily paper, and there was a color half page on Sundays.

Here’s mine

Calvin and Hobbes by Kim's Sticks and Strings

Danny always makes me stretch.  He never just asks for a zombie, or something simple.   AND he orders everything as a keychain–he collects them, there’s one for most major happenings in his life. So everything I’ve made him also has a keyring on it.  But we’ve been friends since high school, and, well, I enjoy a challenge, and don’t mind putting a keyring on something…now my spawn get to be part of his giant collection.

Danny was the first to order a Grinch, and It got all  kinds of love.  His was special, he has my zombie eyes, and is wearing a hat. He’s also holding Cindy Lou Who’s dead-head…

My first grinch

Danny also ordered a flying monkey and an Oompa Loompa, from the first movie.

My Flying Monkey and Oompa Loompa from Kim's Sticks and Strings

But this post really isn’t too much about what I’ve been making, but more about all my wonderful friends, especially, the hookers.   I’ve commented to my friend Teeni of late, I am so very impressed with “our hookers.”   I’ve mentioned before that I’m an administrator for The Treblemaking Hookers, https://www.facebook.com/TreblemakingHookers, a crochet community on facebook that promotes the love, business, and art of crochet.  So when we talk about “our hookers,” it’s about the folks who are regular participants on the page, and on our yarny pages, and you know who you are!  You are the folks I connect with daily, weekly, regularly about projects, have chat  and giggle sessions with, and who I appreciate so very much.   We have days where we celebrate finished products, and pattern designers,  and these hookers are so positive and supportive of each other, it just makes me so happy!

And this week, this same group of hookers, our hookers, MY HOOKERS, as well as my other friends, and creepy lovers, fellow artists, amazing minds have given me so much  LOVE, with the best part of it being that I was in a place that allowed me to just go ahead and appreciate it all.  Add to that with a couple of folks getting their packages and totally being so very happy, and it’s a pretty great week.  I think that I’m finally settling in, and feeling a little less crazy, and I allowed myself to just sink into how wonderful all my friends are.  I feel pretty blessed.

I’ve told you some of the negative things that go on in my head, from way back.  And also in my head are the voices that tell me I’m not that talented.  I’m sure a few of you probably hear that voice once in awhile… NEVER BELIEVE THAT VOICE!!! DO NOT LISTEN TO THAT VOICE!!!  That voice can steal your mojo, leave you feeling terrible about yourself, and is really wrong.  That voice is very counter-creative!  That voice has been pretty silent this week, which is pretty cool!

 I invite you all, hookers,  artist,  writers, readers, moms, dads, friends, to try to listen to the words of your friends, and families, and loved ones, instead of the negative things you may focus on.  Even for just a weekend…just put the negative out of your mind. I know it’s hard, trust me.  And remember, too, that you have to give back.  You have to be one of those positive voices for others; you have to help stifle the negativity.  But the benefits are amazing.  When we lift each other up, we lift ourselves up, as a whole.   With the way the world is today, all the negativity, why not set out to be a bit more positive?  Why not be one of those positive, nurturing voices for someone?  I am so very grateful to each and every one of the folks this week who has been so über wonderful!  So go ahead, tell someone something nice, give someone a pat on the back, find someone who may be having a low day, and give em a bit of encouragement.  It’s not only lovely to hear, but is so very good for you, as well.  *whispers* I love you, all my friends!

♥♥♥

So, I’m nearly done with “the big Hobbes,” the one that Calvin sees. Then they will be off to the post. AND THEN IT’S BACK TO CREEPY DOLLS!  I really do love creepy dolls the most, though I’ll be making a few more “non-creepy” things over the next few months, and am excited about all of them!   *whispers*  Next, I’m making a  life sized Pink-toe Tarantula and Samara, from The Ring…yay for possible creepy dreams!!! Oh and some zombies, and an Ash Bear…well, it looks like I need to go put some yarn and a hook in hand, yarnspawn still aren’t making themselves…

HAVE A SUPER WONDERFUL, CREATIVE WEEK, SHARE A LITTLE LOVE, AND, AS ALWAYS, KEEP IT CREEPY!!! 

9 thoughts on “I Love My Friends…

  1. I love you! It is my goal to let the negative stuff go and be positive with everything this weekend! I know if I do it will continue on!

    • Awesome Linda! YOU make me smile daily, I love you!!! Let’s let all the bad slide away, and replace all that with our wonderful friends’ and loved ones’ voices, telling us WE CAN DO IT!

  2. And back to you I say ‘NEVER BELIEVE THAT VOICE!!! DO NOT LISTEN TO THAT VOICE!!!’ too, just to make sure you remember it as well. I freaking LOVE your Calvin and Hobbes, hands down the most talentfull thing I’ve seen this week. (Talentfull is totally a word).

    Aww I feel all positive and gooey after reading this. Loooooooove yoooouuuuu!

    On the creepy side: can’t wait to see your Samara – if anyone can do her justice it’s you. Less eager for the tarantula, but I’ll look cos I like you lol. (Oh god – my bloke works at a supermarket, and last week they opened a crate of bananas and there was a freaking huge Tarantula sat there. I’d have freaked out something terrible!) x

    • Yay for positive and gooey! And I promise not to listen to the voice!
      And you, my dear, are very talentful!
      The spider will freak me out some, but only in the way that wee Charles Manson did, I have to stare at those pictures to get the right look, so when I close my eyes, I’ll see tarantulas!!!

  3. You post just cheered me up…a little…..im low….but now im postive! nearly..thanks Kim lol I read your post’s and think Oooo that sounds like me! Oooo thats just how i feel! Oooo yer i do have a voice in my head that tells me my work is ok but not brilliant, Its nice to know im not alone 😉 keep smiling love you, you creepy hooker lmao x

Leave a Reply

