A Quieter Week…

Hello Lovelies!

This week was quieter than last… I wasn’t bothered by much, not too indignant about anything in particular… probably for the best… I prefer not to be too up in arms about stuff so very often, it takes away from the creativity…

Work is the usual.  We DO have auction coming up this week, so I not only get the calls from people trying to figure out if they can get their stuff out of the auction (there are lots of calls from people saying they have __ amount of money, will that be enough? There is usually a notation in the file as to what we would take… I don’t do well with these calls, and in that, I really mean, I don’t like to take those calls.  I can give them the amount of money the owner will take as long as they come up with it 30 minutes before the auction happens, but the stories, the occasional voice hitches,  always weigh heavy, and are often difficult to end.  I also get calls from potential buyers of the unit property– the auction company we use has a website, and they put up a picture of the front of the storage unit, so people can see a bit of what’s inside.  But people call, sometimes a handful, sometimes up to a dozen a day, asking if I can give them detailed information about what’s in the unit, how many units are going up for sale, how big the units are.   I think the auction process is my least favorite part of the operation.  There are some of the units that are up for auction that I don’t feel quite as badly about going up for sale… the customer took off and didn’t give us any forwarding info, maybe the person was a lot to deal with and often lied or took advantage of the services… but there are a few of them I genuinely feel terribly about… the ones who can’t seem to keep up on their bills because life is hard right now… Yes, auctions are probably my least favorite part of the business, though necessary.

The other thing is there is a rent increase, per the owner.  The owner was looking at the books, and our rates were lower than those in the surrounding area… no good, increases this year.  Luckily , my boss found ways to only increase rents about $10-$20,  but as the letters started going out– people have a month notice, the calls about why is the rent increasing, what if I don’t want to pay that…  All I could do is tell them it’s the owner’s final decision, and give them the latest date that they could move their stuff out with no penalty. Such is work…

Zombie Lucy is coming along. Here are some updated pictures. I’m kind of stuck on her clothes, but hopefully will get some inspiration this weekend. ALSO, I have Zombie Ricky to work on, so even if I don’t get any ideas about Lucy’s clothes, Ricky can come to life, as it were…

Zombie Lucy's bra, Kim's Sticks and Strings     Lucy's bra, Kim's Sticks and Strings

Image2753     Zombie Lucy Kim's Sticks and Strings

Whatta rack!

I’m also going to try to work on her shoes this weekend–I’m going to give polymer clay shoes a go…wish me luck.

AND before I forget, the lovely and very cool Jess from Knot By Gran’ma put up an interview of little ol me in her blog…she makes monsters too, you should check her out.

http://knotbygranma.com/2014/01/30/the-fabulous-kim-sophia-of-kims-sticks-and-strings/

February is Women in Horror Month, and I’m quite sorry I’m not as prepared with lots of links and things that you can go check out, but I’m going to be. I’d like to say this next week’s blogs will have some authors, movies, and art you can check out, at least some.  It could be a month long thing.   Hey, my friend Rebecca Besser is an author, giving away 3 selections until February 4th, so if you read this before then, here’s her blog link, you can go find them

http://blog.rebeccabesser.com/

I’ve read some of her work, LOVE it and actually picked up one of the free ones, which I will read and review–please, if you read a book, especially an independent author, review it!!!  It helps SO much!!!

Alrighty then. That’s about my week. It’s Saturday morning right now, I should probably eat something and get my day started… some chores and errands to do, then maybe come back and put on a horror flick and start Zombie Ricky.

Keep it creepy!!! ❤

8 thoughts on “A Quieter Week…

  1. Thanks for reminding me. I do need to review the book I’ve read by Rebecca. It was good and I’d like to read more of her work. So the least I can do is review it since I got it for free! Hope your polymer clay shoes work out well. I’ll be interested in hearing about it. Lucy looks so fabulous!!!! ❤

    • I think the shoes will be my tomorrow (Sunday’s)
      project. I need to go get some plastic wrap so that I can wrap her foot in plastic, THEN put clay on the yarny foot…
      And yes, review review review. In fact I need to do one book review this week before reading one of Rebecca’s books, so that things stay fresh in mind. I need to be better about reviewing.
      XX

  2. Just downloaded the books – are they short or long? I’ve got a few things to read first but they’re on the list lol. Thanks for the link (wasn’t sure Amazon UK would bring them up but some searching finally located them 😀 )

    I love Lucy. She’s just fab. Still super impressed by that bra!

  3. Every job has a less attractive side. I hate doing oral exams in Spanish: the kids get ever so confused! Zombie Lucy is brilliant! Creepy hugs. ❤

    • Every job does have something less than wonderful, even with crochet we have to join yarn or sew in ends, less fun stuff.
      When I was taking my first year of Spanish in high school, my teacher had us make 30 second commercials for a business…I had it memorized but as soon as the video light went on I got flustered…it was a mess!
      And thank, you very much!
      Creepy hugs ❤

Leave a Reply

