My job is ending, but my business is really beginning…

Hello Lovelies! I’m here!  I’ve not abandoned my blog, though, to be honest, I had toyed with it.  I was feeling overwhelmed with life, and just the fact that there was a blog, that hadn’t been updated in a long time, was just sitting … not being updated… it mocked me.  Really, it did. But, I’ve come back. 

Quick update,  the company I work for has been purchased. For awhile, it was going to be refinanced, and then some potential buyers came by, but we were told it was a formality. I really hate being lied to, so I’ve had lots of grouchiness about working for a couple of old guys who were just trying to find a good deal for themselves, but lying to the people whose lives it would really affect.  I wish they would have owned their greediness, told the truth. It would have sucked anyway, but giving false hope really sucks.  We had hired a girl, literally 19,  to take the place of the old guy, but her life changed and she quit after 2 weeks.  Since March my schedule has been crazy, and I’ve been working most of the weekends, and it just sucked.  They finally hired another person, but now we all have to re-apply for our jobs if we want them, and I’m not sure I want to work for the new company. They expect us to “sell more” and will have quotas for us to meet, ugh. I’m thinking it may be time to look for a different job.

Just a few of the things I’ve made since my last post…

the_madness_begins shadowfaery 1klowncocooncollage 1RedBud_Goodbye_Collage

 

I’m taking a big step this year. I’m getting some help with my business. I want to do more than just custom orders,   I want my business to grow some, I want to grow as a person, and a business owner.

I am nearly frozen when speaking to people about what I do.  I’ve always had a fear of public speaking, as a kid, when I had to give presentations in school, all my friends told me I turned bright red, nearly glowed, there was a particular presentation in 10th grade, I was wearing yellow, and the red apparently lit up the yellow…ugh.  When it comes to speaking about my creations, you’d think I’d have an easier time, it’s what I love. But no.  Even if someone I know asks what I make,  it’s difficult for me to even get out the words “I create one of a kind art dolls.” It comes out more like “uh, I uh, you know, make dolls, usually, uh, creepy…”  Happily, there’s usually a computer around, and I log in and show my facebook page http://www.facebook.com/KimsCreepyCreations and things are better. I usually just let them scroll through the pictures and then things are easier.  I’ve never spoken to a business about selling some of my work at their shop, hell, I’ve never sold anything at a fair or convention of any type. I’m absolutely terrified. In my head what happens is a bunch of older ladies come by  and tell my my work isn’t good, and people like pretty things, what’s wrong with me. (Actually some older ladies  have said those things to me, I was working on zombies in a cafe, I used to do that some, and at different visits, there would be an older lady who would tell me that while my stitches were nice, and the work was well done, they were ugly. Clearly not my niche, and probably not going to be at a convention,  but they’re in my head, for now.  The world would not end if I sat somewhere with dolls I’d made and NOT sold one, I’d feel embarrassed as hell and it would probably feel like the end. I don’t know if I could have that happen much more than once.

BUT, I also have dreams. As scared as I am to speak to people, I am terrified that if I don’t ever give real effort to my business, if I don’t ever really try, I’d regret it.  I don’t have huge dreams of world domination…not right now at least… but I want to be able to face real people, I want to learn to market these guys, I love them, and others seem to also. I’d like to go to cool conventions up and down the coast and be excited to go and see people who will want my dolls. There are some other ideas brewing, but I’m actually going to be taking classes, and checking out different fairs and conventions in the area, once I learn to tell people face to face that I make creepy and fantastical dolls and they are going to want one.  That is my plan for this year. I’ll be sharing what’s going on with me here, at least that’s my plan… best laid plans of mice and all…

Well that’s that. I still need a bit of money coming in, so will look into another part time gig, but always looking to that time when I can say, “you know, I appreciated that you gave me a job, but my business is really taking off, and I don’t really need to work this job anymore. Thank you, and here’s my two-week’s notice.” THAT is my dream.

Keep it creepy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My job is ending, but my business is really beginning…

  1. I am sorry to hear about your job, but often when one door shuts, another one opens and I know you are a resourceful kind of lady and you’ll be just fine wherever you go.

    As for expanding your business, I think you know that you have an awful lot of followers just waiting to buy your unique creations (me amongst them). Those old ladies who said that your ‘dolls’ were ugly don’t know the first thing about Art and Artists. I love your work and can see and feel how much thought and hard work you put into them. Your spawn have feelings in their eyes and they look almost human, something which is very hard to do, but you really expect them to talk to you. I love my Frankie and so does my family and is one of my most treasured possessions. If my house was to burn down today, Frankie would be one of the few things I’d save. Need I say more? Don’t let negative people get you down: they are obviously going nowhere.

    Enjoy your unique talent and I really hope you’ll be very successful on your new enterprise. We are right behind you. Lots of creepy love, as always. 🙂

  2. One door closes and another opens – that’s what they say. I think the whole last job experience for you was good in the sense that it got you thinking more about your own business and putting the effort in to try and overcome fears and work at marketing your work more. I’m not good at public speaking either – I detest it and I think I visibly shake with fear. But there are other ways that don’t involve standing in front of a room full of people and speaking at them, which are more comfortable and easier to get used to. I think you’ll find your way, not just because your creations are fabulous, but also because you are taking the steps and not just sitting around waiting for a dream to come true. 🙂

Leave a Reply

